top of page
  • Writer's picturePenzance AFC

Mount Ambrose 0, Penzance Reserves 5

Penzance Reserves assured themselves of top spot in Group C of the Whirlwind Sports Trelawny League’s Percy Stephens Cup, and qualification for the quarter-finals, with a blistering five goal second half salvo at Mount Ambrose on Saturday afternoon.

With a strong easterly wind gusting across the exposed ground, the Magpies never really got going in a disjointed first half. They were handed a gilt-edged chance to take an early lead when a penalty was awarded for handball, but the home keeper brilliantly tipped Kizzy Snowden’s effort on to the cross-bar. Further chances fell to Robertas Samnauskas, Haidar Fadli, Tyler Smith and Tyler Dayus whilst, at the other end, Adrian Murley did well to rush off his line to deny Charlie Dingle.

The break-through came just before the hour mark when Matt Robinson sent Fadli clear down the right. The latter surged at goal and saw his angled shot blocked, but only as far as Dayus whose powerful low drive found its way over the line via a couple of deflections.

Within seven minutes the Magpies had secured the points with two further goals. Firstly Snowden got behind the Mount Ambrose back line on the left, and drew the goalkeeper before tucking a deft shot inside the far post. He was then denied a second by the woodwork, but the ball fell to sixteen year old Kai Baxter who emphatically drilled home his first goal for the club.

On his return to the side, as a replacement for Snowden, Sam Payne netted the fourth goal, again a very composed finish after getting behind the home defence. Another substitute set up the fifth, Kylo Mayes knocking in a corner from the right that was cleared only as far as Baxter who slammed the ball high into the roof of the net at the second attempt, his initial shot having been blocked.

The news that Lizard Argyle – the only side who at the start of play could have overtaken the Magpies– had lost at Threemilestone confirmed Penzance’s place in the last eight, a fitting reward for a very impressive showing in the group stage.

Penzance: Adrian Murley, Lewis Hitchens, Matt Robinson, Tyler Dayus, Josh Reeves, James Payne (captain), Robertas Samnauskas, Tyler Smith, Haidar Fadli, Kai Baxter, Kizzy Snowden. Rolling subs: Connor Thomas, Ilhan Kaya, Sam Payne, Kylo Mayes


bottom of page